Scilla
One of the most picturesque seaside villages in Italy, offering visitors ‘postcard’ views and panoramas. The gateway to the Straits of Messina, it is the pearl of the ‘Costa Viola’
Scilla
the "Little
Venice"
Scilla is one of the best known and most evocative tourist resorts in Calabria, linked to the myth of the story of Scylla and Charybdis. Scylla, a nymph of overwhelming beauty, was transformed by the sorceress Circe into a hideous monster and haunted the waters of the Strait together with Charybdis, a devastating sea creature created by Zeus, capable of swallowing and expelling the water of the sea causing deadly whirlpools.
The Legend
According to Greek mythology, Scylla was a nymph who did not return the love of Glaucus, who had turned into a merman precisely for love. Rejected, the young man turned to the sorceress Circe to regain his appearance. The sorceress, however, instead of helping him, tried to seduce him, being rejected because Glaucus was in love with Scylla. Blinded by jealousy she then transformed the nymph into a sea monster with six dog heads. The young nymph, frightened by her own appearance, plunged into the sea,making the waters stormy as boats passed by, unleashing terror among the sailors.
The Village
Scilla is one of the most picturesque seaside villages in Italy, offering visitors ‘postcard’ views and panoramas. The gateway to the Straits of Messina, it is the pearl of the ‘Costa Viola’ which Plato described as follows: ‘Everything is tinged with the different shades of the colour violet, giving life every evening, with its spectacular reflections, to an ever new vision’.
There is only one way to get to know the most authentic part of Scilla: by walking through the narrow streets of its historic centre. A walk through the Marina Grande and Chianalea quarters is a must.
Chianalea is what remains of the oldest village from which the city originated. It takes its name from ‘Piano della Galea’ (an ancient boat for fishing swordfish), defined by many as the ‘Venice of the South’ because of the fishermen’s cottages, some of which date back to the 1600s, directly lying on the water, separated by narrow canals and inlets, next to the houses you can find, in the widest places, the slipways for mooring boats.
Among the streets, one can see, in addition to the fishermen’s houses, ancient fountains, such as the 16th century ‘Ruffo Fountain’ (with the coat of arms of the noble family), the ‘Three Canals Fountain’ with masks and friezes (1610) and the ‘Il Canalello’ (or ‘San Clemente’) fountain, as well as some historical buildings: the Church of Santa Maria di Porto Salvo and the Church of San Giuseppe; Palazzo Zagari, an eclectic building dating back to 1933; the 20th-century Villa Zagari, now a ‘National Monument’ dedicated to Giuseppe Zagari (physician and scientist, 1863-1946); and Palazzo Scategna, overlooking the Araggio slipway, with its double row of balconies, arranged on three levels, made of squared stone.
Among the historical buildings, the most important and imposing is the Ruffo Castle. It first became a Military Fortress, then in 1533 became the property of The Noble Ruffo Family until the early 18th century. Inside, details can still be seen that identify the castle as one of the most important buildings in the Kingdom of Naples. It looks like a fortress made up of towers and loopholes, and to access it there is a bridge that reaches the main room, where there is a stone portal on which the family coat of arms is visible. From the castle it is possible to see a beautiful panorama overlooking the Aeolian Islands.

